Landlord notice period

Hello all
I’m a first time landlord with just the one property.
My tenants moved in during deepest lockdown when 6 months notice was required.
They signed a 6month AST and because the statutory notice period was 6 months due to COVID I entered 6 months as the notice term in the tenancy.

Times have moved on, the tenants didn’t sign a new AST so I said we were now in a periodic tenancy with the same terms as before.

So, question is, am I stuck with 6 months notice (under Section 21) or does Section 21 mean 2 months is sufficient?

I know I’ve been a bit naive but like I said, I’m a newbie.

Many thanks for any replies!

I think you’re probably stuck with 6 months notice. Best not to tinker with tenancy agreements.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply David122.
I assume if me and the tenants enter into a new AST at that point I could ask for a two month notice period?

2 Likes

Yes, you could do that.

1 Like

Thanks again.
Appreciate your help.

Your best bet is to join the NRLA for now where you would be given advice on the various aspects and you will also be able to extract the relevant documents for whatever procedure you want to follow. (Also in the first place the Tenancy Agreement would have covered all the legal aspects to keep you on the safe side) The AST has now defaulted to periodic as the you did not renew the Tenancy and you should contact the company that you secured the deposit with straightaway if you have not done so already to re-register the deposit as periodic, they will issue another certificate to reflect the Tenancy status that you must give to your Tenant.

Also the Tenancy has defaulted to AST and the normal post covid notice period will apply and not six months…

You can’t default into an AST.

I meant that the Tenancy has defaulted to periodic…

Thanks for your input Ola.
You say it would be 2monhs notice.
It’s a different view to that of David122 who said I’m stuck with the 6 month notice period.