Rental to synagogue

Hi

I’m relatively new to renting properties and have just put my property up for rent with open rent. I’ve had an enquiry but rather than being from an individual, I would be renting to a synagogue for one of their employees ( the Rabbi). Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts of potential pit falls of not renting to an individual. Does anyone know if the tenancy agreement provided by open rent would still be suitable and how would I take out a reference on the synagogue. Really appreciate anyone’s help on this. Thanks

Is the synagogue paying the rent or the Rabbi?

Hi Colin. Thanks for replying…the synagogue will be paying the rent not the rabbi.

that is unusual .How to reference a synagogue. Reference from their bank? Rabbi as a guarrantor? No doubt Openrent will reply to you

Hi Colin, many thanks for your thoughts. I understand from some feedback that I have had , that an AST tenancy agreement is not suitable. I understand a tenancy agreement for company lets is required. Does anybody whether open rent supply this type of tenancy agreement or alternatively where I could get one from. Many thanks

Hi Steve

You should check with mortgage company if you have a mortgage as most will insist on a AST which I agree wouldn’t be suitable. Same applies to your buildings insurance.

I doubt openrent would offer one, I’m sure there will be one online you could pay for if you wanted to proceed.

I had a similar scenario in the past.
Basically as I understand it the synagogue becomes your tenant and they sub let to the Rabbi.
The company I was contacted by used their own Tenancy Agreement and I was meant to agree it. They did all the maintenance etc.
Obviously get legal advice but with things as they are you might even be onto a winner.

Try the RNLA for advice And download of one of their contracts.