Renting to the local council

Experienced landlords in the group - advice/ pointers welcome.

I have been approached by my local council to rent my BTL 2 bed flat. They are saying the council will pay the first month rent + deposit, and from.month 2, DWP will pay the rent direct to me. They are also agreeing to market rate on the rent and are also happy for me to reference the prospective tenants ( who I assume will fail the reference which is why the council is stepping in).

I have never done this before - so any feedback/ advice/ pointers welcome,

1 Like

I wouldnā€™t even consider it. By definition, the tenants they will place in your property are the ones that would not be considered by any landlord or agent. There are lots of horror stories about this on the landlord forums. Have a read of them.

4 Likes

the tenants are going to fail.? So who will Guarrantor them I bet the council wont do that . Even if they did this is not something I would do. Will they pay for any damage? dont do it

2 Likes

@David122 @Colin3

Thank you for your inputs. I am planning to speak with the council tomorrow to understand what they mean and how will tenant vetting be done. Prima facie, based on your experience, I am going in with the position that I do not want to do it,

I wonder if they let you meet up with the tenant. Let us know. I am guessing no. but i could be wrong . I met up with one onceā€¦ He smelt of drink at 11 am . not for me ā€¦ his reference from the job seeking council dpt. was like a Halo above him . totally fraudulent ., as they did not know that I knew about him from his boss

2 Likes

From what other landlords have told me, they may make promises they canā€™t deliver, so listen with that filter

1 Like