Should I sell my rental property?

I’m thinking about selling my rental flat and would love some input from you all.
My situation:
I used to live in my flat, I currently rent and plan to buy within the next few years and would need to sell the flat to do so.
I’m aware the laws are probably changing next year so that I’ll find it difficult to evict my tenant when I want to do that.
There’s communal heating in the building so my service charge has gone through the roof and my return is sitting at 3% per year - I can get this much at the bank.
It feels like the obvious thing to do is sell, especially since property prices look like they’re going to drop. I just want to make sure I’m not making a mistake since I’m not a professional landlord.
Thanks so much for any advice you have to offer.

1 Like

Yeah, in those circumstances I would sell. If you have a current tenant, give them plenty of notice as it’s tough out there.

4 Likes

Yes, given your situation, I would probably do the same. There’s not really going to be much difference in the advice you’ll receive on this. You want to buy a property, therefore you need to sell your current one being rented out to afford it, that’s assuming you don’t want to live in the current rental yourself.

If you are not confident about the correct processes of giving notice to your tenants, I would consult / join NRLA. Alternatively, you are most likely going to use an estate agent for the sale, and a good one will be able to advise you on appropriate next steps with your tenant. Good luck!

2 Likes

You would still be able to gain possession as it was your home previously providing you have given notice of this in the tenancy agreement. That said in your situation I would sell up if you are only getting 3% return.

3 Likes

Factor in capital gains tax into your sums.

1 Like