Tenant failed reference for CCj and Guarantor failed on affordability! What do I do?

Hi all,
I am new to this platform and have been reading a lot of the posts which are really useful.

I have gone through the whole process and finally decided on a possible tenant. The tenant has failed the comprehensive reference for the credit check due to previous CCJ which has now been settled as of 2022. I have asked for a guarantor as a back up. The guarantor passed every criteria but failed affordability! I personally want to take out landlord insurance but not sure if I can get one based on the fail from both side. My question is that the tenant CAN afford the rent but by requesting a guarantor who passed the CCj- will that offer adequate cover to get a landlord insurance? I have also let the tenant and looked at all the other detail and want to go with them bit don’t want to go just on my feelings but rather be more objective. Any advice or facts on this? Thank you.

Read the terms of the rent guarantee insurance to find out the exact criteria?

I can’t imagine any insurance company accepting guarantor though as they probably all work on same or similar affordability ratio.

2 Likes

Run! Don’t even think about this! Personally if I were presented with this as the only option, I would leave the place empty and pay the council tax! If I could not afford to do that from any existing income, I would take a risk and increase my short term debt. That’s it. This is toxic. Walk away.

4 Likes

I wouldn’t even consider this application move on there are plenty of applicants out there.

3 Likes

agree with the above .All said

2 Likes

I would not rent to them. Too risky.

2 Likes

Was this tenant really the best of all your applicants?

1 Like

if he was, then we are all in trouble

1 Like