Tenant not moving in

Tenants were supposed to move in on the 5th April, signed Tenancy agreement on the 5th of March and paid holding deposit. Then called around 15th March and asked if the move in date can be delayed to 15th April, which I have agreed to. They have not paid the full deposit or the rent for the first month and now said they can’t give a move in date. What are my options? openrent account is asking for surrender of tenancy but will I get the holding deposit?

if they surrender you get the holding deposit,. If you stop them, you dont

Thanks @Colin3, I’m new to open rent . Do the tenants need to login to open rent and surrender? Or should I be doing that?

i would wait till openrent read this and they will give you the answer. I have a feeling if you do it you would stitch yourself up. I dont do holding deposits and have never been let down , I only advertise on open rent. Join a landlords association for free legal advice, download of doccuments, free update meetings, and tax deductible. ! Strictly speaking if they signed a tenancy agreement you could sue for the whole term, but that could be expensive

1 Like

Hi Chaitanya, sorry to hear about stressful situation. Our team can be contacted here to give you direct help with this tenancy. Here is some general information as well.

Sam

Thank you @Sam for the info

I have emailed, they responded back saying the the tenant will be getting the holding deposit and I need to arrange off their platform if I want the holding deposit. Unless I go to court I don’t see how I can get any of the rent or holding deposit

The tenancy is not going ahead because the tenants don’t want to move in after signing the contract and its bizarre I can’t get the holding deposit and openrent will pay them back the holding deposit. Is this correct or normal? I don’t have much experience letting out properties (I have only let out once before) so any advise is much appreciated.

Hi Chaitanya