Tenant on Universal Credit

I’m a relatively new landlord and have only had tenants paying their own rent through their salary in the past. I now have an applicant who would like to rent my flat and is claiming Universal Credit. She is already in a flat and using the system to pay that rent but has to move. Can anyone give me advice as to whether it works to go with tenants on UC or if it becomes extremely complicated? Thanks very much.

Why does she have to move?

2 Likes

It’s because she’s moving job.

If you are inclined to accept her, just do the usual checks about security of her job, history of rent payment etc.

3 Likes

Hello,I’m also on universal credit and have to move .I am a full time carer for two disabled grandchildren I am new to this and worried about landlord scammers, open rent hold your deposit for safe keeping but universal credit take their time about everything,I’m worried that landlord will try to claim deposit if they are kept waiting? I’ll lose my savings,I’d appreciate advice from honest landlords on what to do or not do to protect against this happening.Thanks.

1 Like

Nothing wrong with UC per se.

The question is more affordability.

Unfortunately inn London for example any tenants on uc are not very likely to be able afford the rent.

2 Likes

If you cant get a good straight payer then UC is your option. Expect to put in a lot more admin time. Getting through to UC can be difficult.
I have a guy on UC now and they pay to a certain amount and the rent is above that so i am losing maybe £150 a month and he wont obey a section 21 because the council have advised him to wait for eviction as they cant home him. To evict him will cost a lot so im just having to suck it up.
Also getting UC to say when they actually started covering the rent (unbelievably) has not proved possible. When he does leave because UC pays in arrears they will probably stop payments on the day he leaves so you can get stuffed there as well.