Age old tenant/landlord conflict

Hi all,

This is a fairly common set of issues, but I would be grateful for any input regarding my particular case and what options might be available to me.

I signed a lease for a furnished property to move in on 20th of February, and there have been so many issues since.

Despite agreeing to the terms of the lease a month prior, the actual lease was not sent over until the 19th of February. When I responded asking for clarity on what furnishings would be provided and whether that should be included in the lease, they informed me that the lease could not be changed, but that we could discuss any issues after the fact. I shouldn’t have signed, but I’d booked a moving van for that weekend and felt time pressure. I also paid 6-months upfront as I’m an international student.

1. Move-in – The day I went to get my keys, the flat was in awful shape - dirt, mould, grime, and old tenant belongings left throughout. I started sneezing from allergens within minutes. I immediately emailed and asked for the flat to be professionally cleaned, which they ultimately agreed to, despite trying to argue that I should have asked for cleaning as a condition of my offer.

2. Toilet – The toilet was broken when I got here. They hired a plumber who replaced part of it and said that there were structural blockages he would have to clear out. He came back to do that a week later, and said he could only clear 85% of it, and I should ask to have the toilet replaced if there were still issues. I’ve been living with a semi-functional toilet for almost a month now, and it is still not fixed.