AST Tenancy - joint for all tenants or one Agreement for each

Hi I am a newbie and very confused with how to set up my Tenancy Agreement with OpenRent. I have sent a couple of emails but dont seem to get the question I am asking answered. To all you landlords out there who manage houseshares can you please help me.

I currently have a joint Shared Tenancy Agreement which was set up several years ago by an Estate Agency. The Agreement lists includes all four tenants and states the rental as a whole. However two of the tenants on that Agreement are exiting hence my search for two more which I have found.

My question is - do I need a Joint Tenancy Agreement covering the whole house or can I have a single Agreement for each tenant so that when one person leaves in the future Im only renewing one Agreement. In that case do I just get Open Rent to draw up two seperate Agreements even though they are for the same property.

I hope someone will understand my ramblings. My tenants are due in this Thursday so this matter is becoming rather urgent. Any advice much appreciate
Thank you in advance
I hope that all makes sense

I need some further data to help you out please?

1. Did you ever re-new the AST since initial commencement/signing years ago?
  2. Is the property a Licensed HMO?
  3. Who’s AST did you use, i.e. OpenRent, NLA etc?
  4. Are you saying that there are 4 people there presently all on 1 AST joint and 2 of those said tenants now wish to leave and the existing staying 2 tenants would be happy for you to bring in 2 strangers and re-sign up to a new AST as a group of 4, so you end up same as before, with 4 people on 1 tenancy?
  5. Are all 4 people before and proposed all unrelated?

Hi Alison,

The first thing to know here is whether this old tenancy is being terminated or not. Did these tenants service notice? Have you served notice? Have you agreed with the tenants to mutually surrender the tenancy?