Damage to property because tenants won't heat it

Hi. I have been renting my 3 bed, terrace house for 12 years. I have never had any problems with damp in the rooms but my current tenants won’t heat the house. They do ventilate but because there is no heat, there are now damp stains at the top of the walls in the bedrooms and the wooden floorboards in the hallway floor are now coming up. I know tenants can live in a property as they wish for the duration of the tenancy but if the way they live is damaging the structure of my house, is there anything I can do during the tenancy to make them maintain the property and prevent damage?

2 Likes

You can only evict them. If the tenants have not notified you in writing of the damp, you can use s21, but do it quick.

1 Like

Thank you. They haven’t notified me officially in writing but they are on a fixed term tenancy so I might have to wait until the break clause. They started a new contract on 30 Sep 23.

2 Likes

This is an example of why many landlords only give 6 month fixed terms and then let it go periodic.

3 Likes

Hear, hear! And, if I may add, don’t put rent review clause in tenancy agreement.

2 Likes

Just wondering any specific reason for not doing this?

1 Like

I would notify them in writing that they are in breach of their contract and that you will attend in a few days to make sure that they are heating the property adequately.

If not, evict them. It is still possible of an AST although you have to collect evidence.

In the meantime, as a measure to halt the problem, install moisture extractor fans that run directly on the mains power (that the tenant cannot turn off). It will be very efficient and a moderate cost of a few hundred quid.

1 Like