Deposit not protected. Agency denying deposit return

Hello Friends,
I have a situation to share and seek your inputs based upon which I intend to take informed actions to get out of the mess.

I rented a flat end of Sep 2018 in London in with one year AST contract with a 6 months breakage clause. I was required to move out of UK due to change in my work conditions in the month of May 2019 (8 months of tenancy). I gave one month notice to the Agency that’s when I was informed that since I’m in 1st year of contract I have an obligation of 2 months notice. At my request and with a condition to find a new tenant to avoid any void period of rent, Agency gave a consent that I’m not liable to June month rent (I believe this means no fine). Also, in later follow ups for my deposit refund, Agency confirmed that Landlord agreed to refund my deposit and requested my bank account details. I have both these emails viz; ‘not liable to June rent’ and ‘landlord confirmed to refund my deposit’.
Strangely after this Agency all of a sudden took a U turn and denied to refund my deposit on the grounds of I have not served 2 months notice as per contract.

Recently I discovered few things:

1. Contract no where mentions that I’m bound to server 2 months notice though it mentions “Where the tenancy becomes a periodic tenancy at the end of the fixed term period the tenant is required to give at least 28 days’ notice”. This implies if tenancy ends before the contract notice has to be more than 28 days but no where it explicitly mentions 2 months notice to be served to end tenancy before 1 year contract ends.