Does a tenant's CCJ affect me as a landlord?

Hi there. So many potential tenants seem to have CCJs against them, for a variety of reasons! Does a tenant having a CCJ affect me as a landlord in terms of my credit rating, getting a mortgage in the future etc? Thanks, I’m new to this…

Why would you think that?

A friend told me it affect’s the landlord’s credit rating

never heard of that . It is not the landlord that has been given a CCJ… I am a landlord and never taken on a tenant who has a ccj for any reason.P S may affect rent insurance. not landlords personal rating

2 Likes

No it should not affect your credit rating

Hi Rachel,

A CCJ is recorded against an individual and not an address etc. (I know in the “old days” there were many myths about this type of connection).

The only possible way a third party’s CCJ could have any impact on you is if you were financially linked to this person. This means if you jointly hold a financial product together - such as a mortgage or bank account.

Remember this person has a CCJ for a reason - it is not just ‘missing one or two payments’ because they forgot or lost their job… It’s a long process of missing payments, not keeping creditors informed and not attempting
to make even partial payments. It’s a complete avoidance of debt. Not that people with CCJs are bad people, you just have a business to think of. So please think carefully about this and perhaps read a little more about when CCJs are given to people and the process of that so you feel more in control.

Best of luck! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Agree fully with Caitlin6 ,also you have to understand the complexity and cost that a creditor has had to go through to get a debtor awarded a CCJ, there isnt many reasons why anyone cant pay their rent, for instance,if they loose their job they get benefits. I avoid them like a pandemic.

Absolutely not!

CCJ’s used to be linked to addresses a long time ago, now they are specific only to the person named on the judgement.