Feeling the Market

Hi Landlords
I have just purchased a flat and am in the process of refurbishing it prior to renting out.
Just to feel the market how do I advert it?

Also, if I was to rent it out on a weekly basis do I need a tenancy agreement?

Would appreciate your advise

It sounds like you’re an absolute beginner, so if I were you I would either hold on letting it until you joined the NRLA and done their Landlord Fundamentals training or if you don’t have the time, arrange for a local agent to let and manage it for you. If you attempt to let it without any knowledge of what you’re doing, you will likely lose a lot of money and sleep.

1 Like

Hi Seulin, feeling a bit sorry for you for the reply given! It is true, NRLA would be able to give you a lot of advice, but we have been LLs for 40 years and do not belong to NRLA. OpenRent could advertise the property for you, more cheaply than a high street estate agent, but they will expect you to be able to provide all the gas, electric etc. safety check documentation. They have a lot of advice and information on their website, which should help fill any gaps in your knowledge. Good luck with the renovations, and I hope you find a good tenant.

It doesn’t sound like Seulin has 40 years experience Anne, and I don’t believe my reply was in any way demeaning if that is what you were suggesting.

Hi Anne1
I appreciate very much your kind encouragement, understanding and kind advises.
I do have about 5 years BTL experience dealings. All the properties are rented out on AST basis. One of the property is rent via OpenRent and a couple of them via estate agents. Also a couple of storage units rented via friends recommendation and by word of mouth.
The reason I put the feeler in the Landlord forum was to test the market demand for Holiday lets and short term tenancy (I.e 30 days)
The flats that I am renovating is in a historical market town centre with huge influx of tourists nearly all year round…