Holding Deposit not refunded by Landlord

I am a student looking to move to the UK. I spoke to the Landlord after looking at his advertisement on OpenRent and he asked me to pay a deposit of £500 as holding deposit to secure the house in London. I decided to pay the same and sent him my details. However, I did not sign and send him the initial agreement for the holding deposit. He asked me to send a reference letter from my friend which too wasn’t sent from my end. After that within 48 hours I asked the landlord to return the holding deposit since the agreement wasn’t signed and I couldn’t help him with any reference check. The landlord has refused to provide me with the money and has sent me the final agreement to be signed without any background check or my consent. The holding deposit was more than 2 weeks of rent since the landlord deemed me to be a ‘risky’ tenant. Since I was unaware of the laws, the landlord has taken advantage of the same. As a student the money does matter a lot to me and has put me through lot of stress. The money was directly paid to his bank account. What can I do now?

Normally the holding deposit can be retained by the landlord if the prospective tenant changes their mind as the advert is locked so nobody else can make enquiries. If you change your mind you have wasted the landlords time and they would be well within their rights to keep the holding deposit.