Increase rent while no tenancy agreement in place

I have a tenant who I have not renewed the tenancy agreement for as I want to sell my house. The agreement ended in Oct 21 and she has a move out date of Feb 22, but I know she does not want to move out as I have been having some issues with her over the past few months. I have been renting below the market value to her for the past 2 years.

What I want to know is, can I increase the rent without her agreeing to it as she no longer has a tenancy agreement in place?

Karen

She has a tenancy agreement with you on the same terms as your initial agreement, but on a monthly basis, so she is protected by law, called a periodic tenancy.

You can suggest a rent increase, but she does not have to accept it, or pay it.

As there is so little time left until you need the house to be vacant, just issue the relevant notice to leave, Section 8 in this case, taking care to comply with its terms.

1 Like

So, what John said. A fixed term, if not renewed, becomes a statutory periodic tenancy. She has therefore right to stay as long as she has not been given proper notice.

You say that she has till Feb 22 to move out. Have you given notice or has she given notice? If not, then she is not going anywhere.

Yes, in a SPT you can increase rent. Note that you have to give the tenant notice and some prescribed information etc. You find the document on the government’s website. There are several threads here that can help.

I disagree with John however. If you provide her with the correct documents and there is no deficiency in the paperwork then she must start paying the new rent. The only way for her to avoid is to ask/appeal to a tribunal where a judge will decide if the new rent is “market rent”. If she doesn’t appeal it means she has accepted the rent increase. You can only increase rent once per year.

Question is why you would want to increase it now when it would take effect from essentially when she moves out (you hope?!)?