Periodic tenancy agreement problems

Hello everyone,

In August 2019, on the 11th, I sent the agency notice that I would move out by the 25th of September (the rent is due every 25th). I was in a joint tenancy agreement that had started in 2015 and then new tenants had replaced the original ones with an addendum. I had moved in October 2018. Nowhere on the agreement or the addendum it said this but, since it was a periodic tenancy agreement now, the agency said that tenants could leave anytime as long as they found a replacement. Perfect, I did that I found a student who could replace me (I am a professional but they accept students as long as they have guarantors) and his parents would have been his guarantors.
The guy completed all the procedures but the agency did not sent a contract. Both him and I contacted them many times, until two days before he was due to move in he said that he would not go through with it because of this absurd situation. The day before that finally one of the agents said that she did not know when he was going to move in and that’s why she did not send a contract.
They said that it was still my responsibility to find a replacement so I found another student, but what I did not know that she being from an EU country her parents couldn’t be her guarantors. I had to go on a trip and the rent was due in another two days so I left her the keys so that she would move in ten days later and I was sure that everything was going to be fine because the agency knew of the urgency and they hadn’t told me the “rules” about guarantors.