Private Landlord

Hi,

I have recently found a flat but the new landlord is asking for 8weeks deposit and a month rent in advance. Is that accepted ? And he wants a bank transfer to hold the flat . I would I even know if he is genuine? Please advise.

Thanks

dont do it its a ripoff. have you met him ? He cannot legally ask for more than 5 weeks deposit. .You can check with Land Registry if he owns it . I would walk away. I am a Landlord

2 Likes

I have met him couple of time. Do I have to pay for the Land Registry Service?

yes as far as I can remember its under a fiver

1 Like

Thank you. Also he told me he doesn’t use tenancy deposit scheme (TDP). I am very new to this renting. Is it mandatory that he needs to have TDP and a Licen to rent ?

He MUST use a tenant deposit scheme. there is something wrong there. It is illegal for a landlord to keep the deposit

2 Likes

there will be somone at the local council whocan give advice on this as landlords are generally registered in certain situations

1 Like

Thank you! might give a ring tomorrow.

Also just found that you the 5 weeks deposit doesn’t apply if its contractual and statutory periodic tenancies. I didn’t not understand. I found quite a lot of private landlord asking for 6-8 weeks deposits.

No landlord should ask for more than 5 weeks deposit. . In a periodic tenancy a deposit has ALREADY been paid (5 weeks) the situation you speak about is a new tenancy. Its 5 weeks and it MUST be protected Speak to your local council. This smells bad

1 Like

Thank you for all your help. i will do

A fly by night landlord , if it is real.

5 weeks is the legal max, visit the property, see if you can chat to neighbours and the last tenant (reason for leaving). If the landlord persists with 8 weeks, you know what to do.