Property letting

I currently have a property on OpenRent site. Although had quite a few queries from people who just arrived from Hong Kong along with some other time wasters. Should they not be isolating anyway due to COVID restrictions. I have no knowledge of any rules/ regulations for BNOs/LOTR and I am rejecting such applications.

I only have one property to let and finding it difficult to get a normal tenancy requests. Is there a shortage of decent tenants looking to rent these days?

It could be a number of factors.
Some areas are more active than others, maybe your just unlucky to be in an area where the market is slow.
I’m sure some people who are wanting to relocate are waiting until the end of the pandemic.
Is the asking rent correct for the type of property.
There might be other concerns, but this just gives you a few things to think about.
I’m sure others will have good advise.
Good luck.

I have just marketed a rental. In just a few days got 26 requests to view. We only granted 3 of them. Sooooo many timewasters. Although to be fair, I think many people are in desperate situations so who can blame them.

Thank you for the info. It’s a lovely 3 bed terrace property only three years old. Very well kept and deserves a decent tenant. Reasonably priced in comparison to other properties on the same estate. Hope I find someone in the near future. Had 16/17 requests of which only 4 worth arranging viewings. One wanted to go ahead but failed reference.

Yes I agree. COVID pandemic making things worse.

Don’t reject applications just because you have no knowledge of something

Beware of rent to rent

Speak to your solicitor if you need immigration advice
Tenants from the South East are often very affluent, especially students
You can ask for the full duration of the rent upfront as they are foreign nationals. They may even have a UK based guarantor too,

I have take 32 enquiries on one house but when I probe and ask for supporting documents they fall through