Short term assured tenancy - landlord notice period

Hi,

I have rented my flat out to a guy from 9 Aug to 9 Feb

What notice period do I need to give him as I will be moving back here then.

Are there any gotchyas?

Thanks a mill for any replies - I’m a newbie.

John

The notice period should be specified in the tenancy agreement that you signed with your tenant.

2 Likes

You will not be able to guarantee that the property will be available for you to move into on your return. If the tenant leaves after notice then great, but if they refuse, it will take you many months to evict them through the courts. Thats also assuming you can serve a valid notice. Check here:

2 Likes

Can I not issue a Section 8: Grounds 1 (I’m coming back to live there) notice?

Else the tenant is already is breach of a couple of clauses in the contract.

Penultimately can I amend the tenancy agreement to stipulate that the tenant will vacate on 9th Feb and signed by both parties.

Will this suffice?

Thanks a mill - panicking a bit here

Also, if I am having the tenancy agreement redrafted, is there a better type so that the tenant has the move out unless the lease is renewed?

Thanks a mill,
John

You have to serve an advance notice that you have lived there and may return in the future in order to use ground 1, but whethef its s8g1 or s21, yhe notice doesnt end the tenancy and court delays mean you would be waiting several months if they dont move out.

A note signing away their legal right to due process would be of no effect and unenforceable in a court.

It sounds like youre wandering into property letting without the necessarily legal knowledge and I thknk you could get your fingers burnt.

2 Likes

Hi David,

Indeed you are correct. I walked into this drunk - literally.

My options don’t seem amazing. The relationship is friendly but definitely need him out by the 9th Feb.