Sign of good tenant turning bad

Hello fellow landlord,

I wanted to create this topic. Not to name the tenant, but for landlords to watch for the tell-tell sign of good tenants turning bad, so we can all learn what to watch out for and think ahead what to do with it when the situation arises.

OK, share my own experience first. I have been renting my property for neary 15 years, had all sorts of tenants during these time. Although I am careful on selection, it is unavoidable to get the bad apple. So these are the signs I found I shall start to think whether good apple turning bad:

1. complaining about small stuff.
    e.g. say the bed mattress was old/uncomfortable. He was good tenant for a couple of year so I bought a new one to replace it. after one month, he gave notice and left and took the new mattress with him.
    e.g. the other one says the washing machine doesn’t drain without me checking, asking for rent deduction. When he moved out, he took the washing machine with him. (if it is not working, he surely won’t want to take with him). It is my washing machine. It was 8 years old so I didn’t chase for it.

2. complaining about cold or anything not measurable.
    They either want to rent deduct or want to move away without paying in the end.

3. a couple renting a huge house / tenants rent somewhere more than they need
    a couple rented one of property, just two adult rented for 4 bedroom house. Indeed, from the second month, complaining about all sorts of small issues. I made mistake to release them early for ending the contract. I fed up dealing with them. haha. Turned out it was good my current tenants appreciate my house and pay on time no problem.

Look for other’s experience and what to watch out for.

1 Like

Hi Jessie2

Yes it’s good idea.

I have a tenant moved in September and he has been
complaining one after another after 1st month.

1. he complained about the bed frame saying it making noi