Tenancy dispute - please help

Hello everyone,

I am new to the UK, don’t know how the system works and having a weird issue in my current place. I’d be grateful if you could help me.

I’ve been living in a property for 4 months now as a lodger. The contract we signed was for a fixed term of 12 months. However, there is an ‘early termination notice’ of 1 month stated in the lodger’s agreement and a clause that says “Either the Landlord or the Lodger may at any time during the Term terminate this Agreement by giving to the other the Early Termination Notice. On expiry of the notice this Agreement will end.”
I gave 1 months notice and told my landlord that I am leaving at the end of the next month. However, I received an email from my current landlord where he claims that my notice of early termination is in breach of the contract. My landlord is saying that I didn’t give a valid reason therefore he is asking me to leave at the end of April AND either 1- find a suitable tenant to replace me or 2- give the rest of the rest rent for a year within 14 days.
Can he do that?
What should I do now? Do I need to find a lawyer in case he sues me? I’m assuming he won’t give me my deposit back, what should I do about that?

Thank you for your help in advance.

If this was an assured tenancy they can demand you pay rent and bills until a new tenant is found to replace you. the cannot force you to leave in a certain day, the tenancy continues as normal. And they cannot ask you to pay the rest of the year upfront.

if there was a clause that allowed either party to surrender with 1 months notice, chances are this was not an assured tenancy contract, so they cannot ask you to pay rent for the whole period… you just leave after 1 month.

best to ask some free advice from Shelter or your council’s citizen advice, they could help you review the contract and tell you how things work