Tenants leaving middle of tenancy period during fixed term

I tried searching in past posts, but either I am not good at searching or it hasn’t been discussed - probably the former, so please bear with me!

I am a landlord and my tenants have given me notice in month 9 of their 12 month fixed term tenancy (with a MBC). The tenancy period starts on the last day of the month as they moved in on 31 January 2020. They now want to leave mid-month in December. Are they required to pay for the whole month of December? The AST is the document taken directly from the OpenRent database, which says the following:

12.5. Any time after 4 months from the start of the Tenancy Agreement either party can exercise the break clause by giving two months notice in writing to the other party. This means that the earliest time that the tenancy can be ended by this clause is after the expiry of 6 months from the commencement of the Term.

Unfortunately this isn’t clear enough for either parties, so I was hoping that someone in the community could help me in the right direction. Thank you very much in advance!

The tenant is liable to pay one month rent as notice is calculated from the last rental payment date I.e 31st even if they want to move out early.

So for example, if they give notice on 15th November to vacate on 15/12, they are liable to pay until 31/12/20.

Basically, notice start from 31st, date of the agreement.I.e even if they give notice earlier.

1 Like

liable to pay and actually paying are two seperate things

1 Like

Thank you very much for your response and for confirming something that I had already suspected in a way! So the tenancy period runs from the last day to last day. Good to know :slight_smile: Thanks a lot!

Hi Miyako,

Thanks for your message.

A couple of things to note are that a tenancy can end at any time by the mutual consent of all parties and we are also not legally trained so you may wish to seek independent legal advice on this.