What deposit compensation would like be in this scenario

I’ve an elderly friend (80) who has been told to leave her home via a S21 (although invalid). She’s found alternative accommodation and has turned to me for help as I’m a very experienced landlord and so able to support her through this. In the process, I’ve discovered that the deposit she paid in 2019 was never protected. The tenancy agreement even mentions the deposit but no protection scheme, and she has no PI at all.

She would like to pursue compensation for this lack of protection and I’m happy to assist her through that process. While I know the procedure, I’ve never done this before. Because we know the landlord’s first response might be to offer a settlement, I’d like to know what a fair settlement would be so I can advise her whether it’s worth accepting or not. I’m aware that up to three times the deposit could be awarded if we go to court, but I’m unsure as to what a judge would likely award in this case. Does anyone have any idea what it’s likely to be if it’s only one deposit for one tenancy?

Many thanks in advance.

Go to the Shelter website and look for “How to get your deposit back”.

Scroll down to “If your landlord or agent has broken the rules” and read what it says. The normal way forward is to go to court for compensation.

As this would be a County Court action, then you would be best to follow the pre-action protocols and write a letter to the LL outlining that your friend believes the LL has broken the rules and wish compensation at £xxx (up to 3 times the deposit is the limit). State that if they do not wish to settle, then the T will proceed to court. The LL has 30 days to decide whether they wish to a) settle or b) proceed to court with costs against the LL.