Existing estate agent's charge for using same tenant

Hello All,

I have been using high street estate agent for last 2 years for my property as fully managed property. Then I decided to switch to openRent. I continued with same tenant after the end of tenancy current period. The estate agent is claiming that I have breached one of the clauses and sent me a big invoice for the charges.

The clause he is saying I broke:

5.3.24. terminate this Contract following a successful letting of the property by us and the existing tenant remains in the property under either a statutory periodic tenancy or enters into a new fixed term tenancy agreement with you, you agree to pay a fixed charge equivalent to six weeks’ rent + VAT (provided that we are not in breach of the Contract).

I don’t think I broke any clause, what do you think guys?

Yes you terminated the contracted with the original tenant in situation, meaning you owe the fee.

3 Likes

Yes I agree with Mark10. This issue comes up a lot. Letting Agents always have a similar clause that ties you in. 6 weeks rent +vat is one of the more reasonable clauses. I have heard of clauses that charge a lot more or even tie you in for as long as the tenant remains in the property. I read a recent post where a landlord was considering serving a S21 on a perfectly good tenant just to end the contract with their letting agent.

1 Like

But technically I did not terminate the agreement, it was ended after agreed period of 12 months. Then I put the Property on the market and paid another estate agent to find the tenant.

Did the tenant vacate after the fixed term was up? If so then the fee isn’t payable. Otherwise this is pretty standard amongst estate agents, LL pay to leave them as the tenant is considered the agents who introduced them. I think it’s unreasonable as you have already paid a tenant finders fee, often 1 month rent.

So is it a different tenant now in occupancy?

Ashisha2
I am totally confused…