Housing Benefit

I’m a new landlord, I have had a really nice couple interested in my property. The husband works and been in rental for 5 years, the wife receives housing benefit of £250 to top up rent. They have said they have no CCJ etc however unsure if affordability would pass referencing. They have said Guarantor of their mum who has own property and director of own local company.
Would I be covered under the Rent Guarantee Insurance? Do I reference all three people? (Two tenants and Guarantor)
Are there pitfalls in accepting someone receiving benefits?
I feel they would be good long term tenants but as new to being landlord obviously I want to be protected.
Any advice greatly received.

Regards
Fi

I can only say what I would do .Reference all THREE. I dont take on benefit tenants, as you can wait 12 weeks for council to process, you are paid in arrears, the money goes to the tenant first… Other landlords will have a different view. I am no expert on the R G I as I have never taken it out . I prefer to get the rent direct myself.

Thanks Colin.

Much appreciated.

Hi Fiona, to be eligible for our Rent Guarantee Insurance (RGI), each tenant must either:

• pass referencing, or
  • provide a guarantor who passes referencing.

So in this case, perhaps the husband would pass, and if the wife doesn’t, then you can add the mother onto the AST as her guarantor. Then you could be able insure the tenancy for just £89 per year.

I read @Colin3’s comment and just wanted to be clear: landlords still receive the rent directly if they have an RGI policy. What the policy does is, if the tenant stops paying the rent and you follow the terms of the policy, continue to pay out rent to you and cover costs of recovering money from the tenant. In this sense, it guarantees that you will receive the rental income the tenancy describes as long as you follow the terms of the policy.