How do I go about claiming damage through a small claims court?

My tenants left damage which surpassed their deposit. Most damage was also hidden, undisclosed, and discovered after an initial inspection with them.
I’ve been advised to claim the rest of the money for the undisclosed damage through the small claims court.
How do I go about it?

You will need to get a form from your local Civil county court (possibly on line now) complete it and submit with a fee back to the court. They will then send to the defendant in the case and then if no agreement then they will set a hearing date to make judgement.

Thank you for your help. I’m new to this…

1 Like

I heard its another order then to get the money, more fees so you have to weigh that up

Lodging a small claims case online is straightforward enough and you can do it via the Money Claim Online website (https://www.moneyclaim.gov.uk/web/mcol/welcome). You enter your’s and other party’s details, the amount claimed, supply a reason for your claim and pay the fee. You then have the opportunity to serve further details about your claim. It’s meant to be a relatively simple process for a legal lay person to follow but I still recommend seeking some expert advice beforehand - mainly to ensure that your submitted information and documents are well drafted and you’re aware of some basic legal protocols. ‘LegalBeagles’ is a great site for this kind of free advice.
Don’t assume that it will be quick. The courts are very slow and if you win (either by default or after a hearing), you may then need to take enforcement action to get the other side to stump up.
I’m NOT a legal professional and my advice above is simply from personal experience as I’m currently suing a builder through the small claims court!

4 Likes

Thank you for your reply. I’m new to this.

Much appreciated