Letting agent taking over property - no notice from landlord

I’ve been renting from the same private landlord for 7 years. I’ve always had a good relationship with him, paid rent on time without fail throughout the tenancy.

out of the blue, I received an email from a letting agent to say that they are now taking over the management and I now have to pay them and not the landlord and that I am not also not to contact the landlord. They are leaving voicemails every couple of days saying wanting to do an inspection, which I absolutely do not want, given that the landlord was only here two weeks ago.

the landlord has not contacted me at all to tell me that a letting agent would be looking after the house so it’s all a bit if a nasty surprise, particularly as I have never wanted to deal with letting agents.

I initially thought this was a scam as, as I say, there has been zero contact from the landlord about this.

i have since discovered that the landlord intends to evict us because he is not making any profit and wants to sell. I’m guessing that he has asked the letting agent to look after the property to do his dirty work for him, given that his other property is being managed by him still.

I’m feeling really upset and don’t want to co operate with the letting agent. I know this is my anger talking, but I just feel that the landlord has acted in a totally underhand way by not even having the courtesy of sending me a simple text to let us know.l if his intention. Had he just come to us and told us l, we would have understood and started to look for a new place without all this unnecessary bad feeling.