Letting Agent and reposession

Hi all,

Not sure if anybody has any advice on this seems quite complicated but here goes!

I’ve rented a property from a letting agent for 8 years, rent is up to date with next month’s advance to be paid on the 01st. Over the last few years any problems I’ve reported have not been fixed, now there’s mould, damp and loads of other issues that have built up. I had an Electrical Safety Inspection test a few days ago which failed. The letting agent manager had NO idea about it and when I asked him he said he deals with reposessions. Still, the letting agent hasn’t told me anything and have received no letter for eviction as such.

I’m still trying to get down to the bottom of it but they aren’t returning my calls. I’m sure they will. I’m no expert but obviously something’s wrong, has the owner of the property Ben reposessed? And if so is there any other way I can find out that information? I mean I don’t want to be chilling watching Come dine with me with a bottle of Chateauneuf du Pape and in come the Bailiffs giving me an hours notice!

Maybe I’m worrying about nothing. But the nice chap who did the electricity inspection did state that he ONLY deals with reposessions. Some other info may be useful, last few years they stopped sending me 6 months tenancy agreements, etc.

Also should o hold this month’s rent payment until I know exactly where I stand?

Any info greatly appreciated.

Steve

never withold rent.It makes matters worse . You could get a solicitor to check on the status of the property and for a small fee land registry will tell you who owns it and you can write to the owner

Thanks Colin.

I don’t like the idea of withholding rent but wouldn’t a bank now own the property? And shouldn’t it be the letting agents responsibility to do that and then let me know?