Management service asking for £1817 for the first instalment of the letting fee?

Hello all

so i am new to the landlord thing, because i am wet behind the ears i have signed up for the management service from my letting agent - when i am more familiar with everything i will probably switch to the cheaper service.

ANyhoo, my lettings agent cahrge 14% incl vat for management service. i thought this was bad, but then they are now asking for what appears to be an additional upfront free of £1817 - the invoice says that this is the “first instalment of letting fee”. The rent is is only £1300 so accordling to my calculations the first instalment of the letting fee is only £182 per month so I cannot understand what this is for and i have emailed and phoned them but havent heard from them

THe tenants are due to move in, and i have paid for an inventory charge and all sorts so its all systems go but was just wondering if anyone knows what this could be for? Or am i being scammed (they are apparently a reputable letting agent tho).

Cheers all

Sounds very odd. In a normal (and straightforward ) world, you would think that the agents would take their 14% fee from the monthly rent on a monthly basis and then pass on the remainder to you. Check the contract you signed with your agent or their published T&Cs.

I used an agent for my very first let. A well known and established national agent beginning with a C and ending with an S. Never again. Every let since then I have found and organised myself and without any drama.

I think you are being ripped off and you have not read the contract. Only let thru Openrent and no one else

1 Like

that may be part of an arrangement fee , of 6 weeks rent,I feel you are in for a big shock

Some agents charge their fees up-front for the duration of a fixed term tenancy. You will probably find a clause in the contract stating that this is non-refundable, meaning that if the tenant they found does a runner, they will keep the fee.