Managing Agents Costs

My flat is in an old house converted into 3 flats. We have a ‘Managing Agent’ based about 200 miles from the flat. This is my first year, but I, and I presume the others, pay about 2500 quid each year to them. Ive been there 10 months, the place is run down and neglected, I have not seen any presence whatsoever from these agents. I have tried to contact them and received incorrect information. Like a leaking waste pipe from my flat - outside the flat demise = was my responsibility. What can I do to either get rid of them, or get some action from them?

200miles away Ridiculous. Check the contract with them

Why pick an agent so far away?

David, your not asking me that, are you? I bought the flat and they were thrust upon me. The flat was a bargain, I had a feeling the ‘Managing Agents’ were … dubious, shall we say, but chanced it. They are, but after nearly a year Im fed up with it. We have paid a fair amount and got nothing for it. So Id like a plan of action. First move - ask the forum. Oh, if you mean why did the freeholder do that. Well, Ive no idea at all!

What do you mean thrust upon you? You had a choice which agent you appointed. Even if this agent was managing the property when you bought it, they had no contract with you and you would have been under no obligation to continue with them.

1 Like

David, there are 3 flats in the block, Im a leaseholder, not the freeholder. I had no choice. The Managing Agent controls the block. If I didnt accept them then there was no deal. My ambition is to force them somehow into proper action. My plan now is just to confront them by email. See where it goes. Im in Essex, by the way, the Agents are in Manchester.

There is confusion here, everyone assumed estate agent rather than property managing agent, the penny will drop now!

How is your charge broken down iE how much ground rent/service charge? You may find they are just ground rent collectors and nothing more.