Newbie Long distance Landlord - Help finding a new tenant

I am new to openrent and have advertised my property for 7 days, had an offer and a holding deposit only for the tenant to drop out.

I have an automatic screening questionnaire, then proceed to phone the tenants, arrange viewings and then I plan to complete all viewings, review all offers and ask for bank statements/payslips and then select one group for referencing. After this, I will ask the selected tenants to place a holding deposit.

I had a few questions about this process which I think most landlords use:

1. Do you phone prospective tenants before offering them a viewing? I have to pay someone to do the viewing for me as I am not local therefore want to make sure they are serious contenders.

2. How do you reduce the risk of tenants not turning up for viewings (which will cost me money)?

3. Do you perform interviews after the viewing for those tenants you like most?

4. Do you perform referencing before or after getting a holding deposit? If after, then how do you prevent the situation of them finding another property whilst you are waiting for references (which can take a couple of days) and therefore lose money?

5. Do you reference more than one group of tenants at one go accepting the extra cost as an insurance policy should the above happen or they fail referencing?

Any other comments/suggestions welcome. I am finding the whole process quite difficult as I find tenants put pressure on you to give them answers and I find it difficult to know if they are genuine or not.

My initial experience has not left me with much confidence so am thinking of returning to a LA but I am willing to give it another go…

1 Like

I ask questions thru openrent Let the best ones view one after the other . NO PHONE NUMBER GIVEN. Choose the best and reference then. Also ask questions DURING the viewings