No contract ever signed; landlord trying to charge ten months retrospectively

Hello all,

I have rather a strange situation on my hands. I’m a teacher, and rent from my employer. I have been resident in a property since September, and my tenancy expires in two weeks. However, despite frequent, written requests, I have never received or signed a tenancy agreement, nor been charged any rent at all.

Today, I finally received a tenancy agreement out of the blue, attempting to charge me a £4000 bill, backdating rent to September. My question is, basically, do I have any leg to stand on?

Question 1:

As mentioned, I have never been sent nor signed a tenancy agreement for the property I live in, nor been charged any rent, despite repeated requests. I was, however, sent the following email last year, well before moving in:

‘Further to recent correspondence, this is to confirm that we can offer you a tenancy agreement for the rental of a room as part of a house share in School-owned accommodation for the academic year 2022-23. … The rental figure will be £400pcm, inclusive of services, Council Tax and TV Licence. At this stage in our planning, you would be allocated a room in Farm Court 1.
You will receive a tenancy agreement in due course but, in the meantime, it would be helpful to have an indication of whether you intend to take up this option.’

I replied, ‘I will gladly take up the offer of shared accommodation next year, in exchange for rent. Thank you very much for this.’

Does this constitute a binding agreement on my part?

The only reasons I am wondering if it might not are:

1. It’s obviously not a formal tenancy agreement
    2: It says ‘You will receive a tenancy agreement in due course’, which suggests it isn’t one in itself, and asks for an indication of whether I intend to take it up, not formal confirmation.