Potential scam-being asked to pay the money to the agent's account

Are only the landlords of the properties allowed to sign up for Openrent? The flat I am about to rent seems to be handled by agents, and the ‘landlord’ I contact with is the agent of this flat. I have already paid the holding deposit and we found that the contract was not signed by the landlord, it was signed by the agent on behalf of the landlord instead, is it reasonable?
Also, they mention that there is a 12,000 limit on rent in advance, since I am an international student, I have to pay 6-monthes rent in advance, they say I have to transfer the remaining of rent more than £12,000 to their agent account, so I’m a little skeptical about it, because I thought I was able to contact directly to the landlord of the flat, I am worried that the actual landlord of this flat does not know about it and does not receive any rent from the agent, as a result I will be claimed as not paying any rent by the actual landlord and drive me away. Could Openrent help to verify whether the agent’s statement that I cannot pay the rent for 6 months at a time so that the remaining 4 months of rent has to be transferred directly to his account are true?

Scams are on the increase. If you have any doubts about this “agent” then walk away.

“Are only the landlords of the properties allowed to sign up for Openrent?” No, some agents in the past have pretended to be landlords, as well as some scammers, so be careful.

“the contract was not signed by the landlord, it was signed by the agent on behalf of the landlord instead, is it reasonable?” I don’t have relevant experience here, but as the landlord is ultimately responsible, I would expect a landlord signature.

I do not believe there is any limit on rent in advance as I know one person who paid well over that for a house for a year. I suspect that £12000 is a bank transfer limit to reduce the risk of fraud consequences, but not stop fraud!