Prospective tenant won't give details in writing for pre-screening

Hello everyone,

I am looking for some other views on a prospective tenant. I’m fairly new to all this, this is only my second time advertising and the first was during lockdown so there were only a couple of enquiries (no-one wanted a one bed flat with no garden in Hackney during lockdown!)

There is more interest this time and a prospective tenant sent me a booking enquiry message telling me they would pay the full amount of rent in one go and they wanted me to call them.

I sent them pre-screening questions (When are you looking to move in? How many people will move into the property? How will you pay the rent? (i.e. employed income, self-employed income, savings, benefits, someone else will pay, etc. What is your annual income? Can you provide a guarantor if required? Can you provide past landlord and employer references if required?)

They replied right away saying they would answer all questions over the phone. They appeared to have just joined openrent in the last few hours.

Openrent is a really transparent platform which seems to protect tenants and landlords so the fact they won’t answer on the platform feels risky. This feels a bit dodgy to me but maybe there is a valid reason and I don’t want to make assumptions.

I don’t want to respond again but leave enquiry open. If they then respond in writing, I will call them, if not, I will then decline. I wondered if any of you could give me your opinion on my plan of action?

Ta

1 Like