Tenants in Receipt of Benefits

Hi all!

I’m having an awful time trying to secure a private rental, and I’m pretty sure that 90% of the rejection or refusal to reply is due to the fact that I receive Personal Independence Payment and other benefits.

I was a working professional out in the States (I am British) going through my training to become a child psychologist. I worked in a children’s psychiatric hospital when I found out I have autoimmune disorders and more.

Eventually returned home and used all my savings on renting until I was advised by my doctor to apply for Pip.

I find it very discriminatory that landlords not only ask for 6-12 months rent up front, but also a guarantor, the last requirement was for one who was a homeowner and earning 46k a year!

My current landlord is happy to provide a reference stating that I’ve never missed my rent, and have actually improved the property by doing my own upgrades (by qualified builders).

I also have professional references.

I’ve been trying to move for over 12 months to be closer to friends so that I can have their support.

Surely someone employed can loose their job and won’t have a guarantor.

I’ve been given a 10 year award, so my finances won’t change.

Shouldn’t people be judged on a case by case process?

How can genuinely good people through no fault of their own secure accommodation.

The system is so judgemental.

Thanks

6 Likes

this is because too many Landlords have had their fingers burnt by those on benefits . Fact not fiction

4 Likes

And they haven’t by people employed?

Do you think it’s right to potentiallt deny someone a home, because of a prejudice.

4 Likes