Advice for Self-Employed Tenant from Landlords Perspective

Hi there,

My wife and I are currently in Amsterdam but moving to London around December.

I’m a self employed IT contractor and we have a small King Charles Cavalier so I’m expecting some difficulties finding a place to rent.

From a landlords perspective, what could I do to help my case and look more attractive as a tenant?

My current plan is the following:

• I earn quite well but most of my clients are on net 45 so I tend to pay myself in drips and drabs so I’m planning on building a buffer and paying good sized salary consistently until we move so my bank statements look good
  • I have two clients with indefinite contracts which I could provide
  • My current landlord is happy to provide us with a good reference
  • We have some friends living in the UK who’ve helped us navigate the move and could provide us with a character reference

Any advice or suggestions on how we provide additional peace of mind would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Mike

What do you mean by you pay your self drips & drabs as if you are self cert then all monies should be going through your bank account, hence you wouldn’t pay your self?

I am self employed, money from building work does come in erratically however what counts is the annual balance sheet. If mjackson finds a landlord who is self employed or understands a balance sheet there should be no problem

Colin is completely correct, the year end file accounts documentation show all accounts for the year and this would suffice & become more important that one wanting to see more than 3months bank statements for sure, I am self cert & I am employed by another one of my own companies so i file more than one set of accounts & its only the balance sheet which is ever of anyones interest.
If you have an Accountant you could always also get a written reference from your accountant and same with your bank as every little will help you achieve your objective.