After the first year.,,

Hi, thought I’d see what the more experienced landlords preference is.
My tenant is approaching her final quarter of the tenancy, I’m a non professional landlord, renting out my flat while I work up north, in all honesty don’t see me ever moving back but it’s a nice security.
Renew to a new 12mths or allowing rolling? And do you guys ever ask the tenant which they would prefer? She’s been perfect tenant and if it means she was comfortable maybe she’d stay put longer?

Thanks

I’d just ask them what they’d prefer to be honest, both have merits, some like the flexibility of the rolling contract, some prefer the perceived security of the fixed contract. You both still have exit clauses if needed either way I think?

1 Like

opt for fixed term!

You wont want to receive a call on 10th December saying here is my one month notice -and thanks for everything

All those trips in deepest winter to interview the (rare) interested party!

2 Likes

I believe it’s always best to understand the future intentions of the tenant regardless of what term contract they are. If you know they are in for the long haul then a good relationship is key.

To be honest I always opt for a periodic tenancy as if the tenant runs into financial difficulties or wants to leave they have a way out. I agree interviewing tenants in December isn’t great but I would rather have the opportunity of a paying tenant than a non paying one who can’t leave.

2 Likes