Boiler is leaking Water Damage

Hi all,
I am a first time Landlord, so new to this.
I have a question with regard to a problem with the boiler in our BTL property. Tenants have got in touch with us about a problem with the hot water. We arranged for a the gas engineer to visit the property, the boiler needed a part, the engineer fitted the part, shortly after the engineer left the property the tenant telephoned to say that water was running out from the boiler and down the stairs. The water has run onto some of their contents, who is liable for any damages to the tenants contents… Would that be the Landlord or the Gas Engineer?

I would have thought the gas engineer who should have his own insurance. But I am not an expert maybe someone else knows more.

1 Like

Thanks… The gas engineer has said that the leek is nothing to do with the part he fitted, it now needs another part for goodness sake.

It is the gas engineer’s fault and I agree he should have his own insurance as should the Tenant for their own contents
I was once advised by a solicitor that I am responsible for the inventory. The Tenant is responsible for their own belongings
It is unreasonable to blame the Landlord in this case. He employed an engineer in good faith and this was not intentional.
However this is the fault of the engineer but trying to get him to own it will be another battle if you have already paid him.
My personal experience when workmen are at fault the incidence of them owning it is equivalent to the incidence of hen’s teeth.
You could speak to Gas safe and ask them to speak to the engineer if you have no luck

1 Like

Get a second opinion as he may be trying to negate his own error

Last year I had a gas engineer tell me I needed a new boiler because it did not work after he replaced the gas valve ( it stopped working after he took off a radiator at my request but did not press the restart button as he didn’t know where it was)