Care agency - correct procedure

I have a care agency that want to rent my property to then put people in there with a carer - what further information do I require and is this fully above board :yawning_face:
TIA

care of? Criminals . Old people . Disabled . Mentally ill or young offenders ?

2 Likes

Yes deffo thank you - the more I think about it the more it’s making me think :thinking: sorry if I sound stupid but I’m fairly new to all this and obviously want to do things above board !!

This kind of arrangement puts you at risk. You lose all control and must rely on a third party to do things correctly. Barge poles spring to mind….

4 Likes

Thanks Mark, I’ve put it in writing to my solicitor to find out how I would stand legally. It sounds to me like it’s subletting and I would have no idea who is actually living there :flushed:

If you’re new to renting then maybe start with normal tenancies so that you can gain experience. There is already plenty that can go wrong. When you have experience, you can try something more exotic like the care provider.

Hi I’ve had tenants for 18 months which have been easy tbh but this new option just seemed to open up lots of questions - hence my question on here for advice

WHO do they want to put in ?

This is their explanation -

The tenancy will go in the business name. The business Will always be responsible for paying the rent. Once the property gets its first tenant their rent will go into your account but the business will top up until the second tenant is in to complete the rent but our company will be paying your rent initially. Hope this explains it. Thank you

that tells you nothing. What SORT of people will be in there ? If they do not tell you then they are evaisive for a reason that will put you off

2 Likes