Ending fixed term early what are responsible costs

Hi all
I signed a 3 years fixed term tenancy in Oct 2022 and naively didn’t realise I didn’t have a release clause. I am a single mum of 2 and been in the property for over 3 years. I am a working professional, however claim universal credit and the housing element which my landlord is aware of. I have asked to be released early as I want to move in with my partner. I have said I am willing to stay until they find a new tenant to ensure they are not at a loss. I said around August time if possible. They said can I move July, which I said shouldn’t be a problem.
I have received an email today setting out a release clause asking I pay an extra months rent at the end of the tenancy to cover their costs and loss of rent as they want to refurb.
I feel this is unreasonable as most of my rent comes from housing benefits and my whole months earning is what they are asking be my final payment.
I understand they want to refurb but that is their choice. The house doesn’t need to be empty so they don’t need to be at a loss. They manage the property. It isn’t done through an agent so if they choose to use an agent and incur fees then would have had to when the lease ended anyway.
Can anyone advise me on where I stand in negotiating these fees?
Thanks

I would agree it’s unreasonable to charge you if landlord wants to leave it empty for a refurb. The landlord can pass on reasonable costs they incur from you ending tenancy early, so if they did want to use agent then it would be reasonable to pass the charges for finding a tenant and tenancy set up charges to you for ending contract early.

1 Like