Landlords - How can I gain your trust?!

I am 34, I am professional. I have been working since I was 18 years old and have been operating in Marketing for about 12 years.

I am based in Ireland but trying to relocate to the UK (Bristol). My job is in England plus I am starting a part-time postgrad over there in the new year. I will throughout all of this work full-time.

I understand and empathise with landlords, they have to be able to trust their tenant and it might feel like a risk to take someone like me on.

But how do I convince you it isn’t?

OK - So against me is all that I have pets. But pets which I can provide referencing for. Pets which have lived, hassle-free in rental accommodation with me for 12 years - that is 8 years in one property and 4 in another.

I have landlord references, the works. I know I am reliable. I know I am mature and responsible. I’m the type of tenant who would paint a wall, who isn’t afraid of DIY, who would do stuff to add value to a place.

I’m not after a place to take advantage of, I am after a place to call home!

The market is crazy, yes. It is mad competitive, I know. But my gosh, my heart is broken trying to get a place (in Bristol).

• If anyone wants to use my topic as a launchpad to have a moan please do!

• If any landlords want to supply genuine advice, please do - if you have any tips or tricks with how to engage, what to state up top. Anything, please! Tips, tricks etc welcome!

FYI, this move has been in the works for some time. Unfortunately, a couple of years ago when it was on the agenda, my father became very ill. After he passed away, I didn’t fancy up and leaving immediately. Then with Covid things just came to a grinding stop, I was still working but travel was not an option.

I am vaccinated. I am a professional. I am a decent human being and I really, REALLY want to get over!!

1 Like

You should probably be aware that with pets there will be a lot of landlords that legally can’t rent to you.