New tenant complaining about tops of kitchen cupboards being dirty

Hi
I had a new tenant move into my.one and only rentral last week. I have been renting now for about 7 years and had my fair share of bad tenants and good but except thats the life of a landlord. Anyway to cut a long story short this tenant received the keys from me and we went through each room she was happy with our decussions and decisions. It was a very quick turn over from old tenant to new so there was a few teething issues thst needed to be sorted but nothing major and the new tenant was happy for these to be sorted in.the coming week. Anyway since the 1st October when.the new tenant received the keys i have be bombarded with phone calls and texts. I have emailed the tenant as i felt that having conversations over the phone was not being recorded. I have addressed all the issues and explained certain facts. Anyway she has sent me pictures today of the tops of the kitchen cupboards complaining thst they are dirty and i guess they are a bit dusty but i didnt have a professional clean and honestly did not think of the tops of kitchen cupboards i did make sure the kitchen was clean ie inside cupboards work surfaces sink floor skirting bostds etc. This tenant is asking for a reduced months rent in.fact a month free because of this. Please bear in mind i have resolved any issues such as bathroom flooring being replaced new timer and thermostat which was on.my to do list after the old tenant brought to my attention when leaving. I have stated in the email that contracts were signed and that the house was rented as seen. Just want other landlords thoughts as can see this tenant being a nightmare. Thanks

1 Like

Tenant is trying it on. Dusty tops of kitchen cupboards??!! If they don’t settle down I would get rid at first opportunity. They sound like the ocd type?