New to renting need advice on our situation

Hi all
I’m new to the property search and just looking for some advice and guidance !

I’m a 28 year old female, in full time work, I work from home and have been with my company over 5years now. Home at the moment is still with my parents (thankfully) in their council home.
I’m used to paying my own way, paying for my own phone bill / food / luxuries. And I contribute £300 a month to my parents to go towards utilities rent etc.

Me and my boyfriend now want to live together in a rented property before we start to look to buy together.

Also 28, he lives in his own mortgage free 1 bed flat, he inherited this from his late grandma. But it is far too small for us as a couple. Due to an injury this time last year he was out of work for the first 6 months this year, then with family matters he’s stayed not working to assist them and has lived off his savings.

Our ideal plan was to find somewhere to move into for the new year, and he returns to work in a management role and rent out his small flat.

With our combined finances right now we are in a good position to rent somewhere up to £1250 per month, and even discussed paying 6months up front to attempt to put our future landlords mind at ease, that rent will be paid.
However I worry due to him being out of work for so long we won’t pass any sort of referencing, and will be shot down until he returns to work.

So landlords my question for you !
Are there landlords out there that would understand this situation and give us a chance ? Or shall I not bother enquiring in until he returns to work next year ?

Please be kind, as I say this will be my first renting experience :blush: thank you in advance

to any potential landlord just say it like it is . Be honest . That goes a long way with a landlord

2 Likes

As above be honest with a LL and it will go along way , as by what you said you seem very sensible!

2 Likes