Reference check anxiety

Hello all, I am new to renting and I just wanted to know with the reference/credit/life check how deep do they go? I have no CCJ’s or bankruptcy but I have a late payment on my mobile phone bill three times in 2016 and my credit card is maxed out, and I was late on two payments on a loan.
These issues have effected my credit score so will it stop me from renting? I earn well over what is asked and would really know if I will be turned down on the reference check because of this.

1 Like

If you are ,then explain all this to the landlord best always to be upfront

3 Likes

I wouldn’t know if you will be turned down but it’s not just what you earn it’s life style too so if you are spending more than you have coming in with maxed out credit cards would have thought someone may question things somewhere down the line.

3 Likes

Mr t makes a good point a bad credit score will always catch up with you… i dont have a good credit score, so I am told, because I dont have a credit card and so have not borrowed ever on one . I dont even use my debit card very much. Never be behind on a payment ,it will be recorded somewhere… You may find a landlord who only considers earnings. (I am not one of them)

3 Likes

A lot of landlords wanting to see a few months worth of bank statements too these days.

2 Likes

yes I’ve been honest I’ve sent in 3 months bank statements and my credit card is £500. I am just worried like I said about the credit check with this late payments in 2016.

1 Like

Hi Angela
The check has been a worry for me too. Some landlords/estate agents won’t progress my application without a Guarantor, but that’s fine. I’m just having to choose others.

I’m just being honest with them when they write and ask for more details about my Defaulted loan & Credit card., Just be honest and positive about it, because it might just save your holding deposit if you ever get to that stage and they opt for someone else instead of you.

Good luck!

2 Likes