Referencing advice for newbie landlord

I am a newbie landlord. I have read instances on the forum where openrent’s referencing system have accepted fake references etc. I was wondering what referencing platform people use and recommend? I know experian, RLA have their own referencing platforms to name a few.

For the referencing process, I have asked for bank statements, salary slips and will be contacting employers myself as well. I will perform right to rent checks. The references from landlords is harder because not all tenants are able to provide these for legitimate reasons (home owner, living with friends or family previously etc). For example, one interested person has lived with friends (as a paying guest) or family for the last four years. She can provide a tenancy reference from a landlord four years ago but no one recent. Otherwise she is a good candidate (professional, decent salary, well presented). What would experienced landlords do in this situation - reject them outright or accept the risk of not having a landlord reference (which would exclude a significant number of interested parties)

Many thanks

The main reason I changed from using a letting agent to open rent wasn’t the £600 I saved as that’s peanuts after the tax deduction. No it was the fact that the referencing process is totally in my hands and I’m far more motivated to dig much deeper into a persons circumstances than a busy letting agent chasing the commission. I still use the £20 reference but that’s only to find out if they have had CCJs , IVAs , Bankruptcy and their overall credit score . I still accept people with these as long as I think they can afford to pay the rent and more importantly they declared these upfront . Any lie and it’s a definite no. Im far more motivated than the letting agent to chase up employers ,study bank statements and the hardest of all ie try to get info from previous LLs.
My advice is