Do both owners need to sign tenancy agreement?

We are due to sign a tenant in Monday through a scheme with my local council. The council Lettings department are drawing up the tenancy agreement.
The property is owned by myself and my husband.
I have just found out I may have to go to Ireland tomorrow or Sunday for a funeral so won’t be on Monday.
My question is could my husband sign for both of us? Or could I do a digital signature? I have tried contacting the council Lettings team but they are closed.

I am no expert but an agent can sign on a landlords behalf. so I cnnot see why one person cannot sign for both of you .Thus that one person would then have to be used in all matters thru the tenancy

1 Like

I too once let to the local authority

A serious mistake-assuming such people had any integrity

You will find whatever (verbal) assurances they will not be honoured
“inventory” not worth a thing
Tenant -the absolute dross rejected elsewhere

Look out for those legal clauses too which allow them to ignore your requests AND extend the tenure even if you want to end it

I could go on………….simply take advise through this medium

Ask your local LL their experience with this authority

Dr David Noble

1 Like

David17
September 30
I too once let to the local authority

A serious mistake-assuming such people had any integrity

You will find whatever (verbal) assurances they will not be honoured
“inventory” not worth a thing
Tenant -the absolute dross rejected elsewhere

Look out for those legal clauses too which allow them to ignore your requests AND extend the tenure even if you want to end it

I could go on………….simply take advise through this medium

Ask your local LL their experience with this authority

Dr David Noble

Visit Topic or reply to this email to respond.

To unsubscribe from these emails, click here.