PAT testing DIY

We got a reminder that we are due to our annual PAT test. I am grateful for this reminder but also see this as a way of Open rent selling PAT test. In our flat there are only 2 apliances - fridge and small portable cooker and it seems a lot to give £69-105 (locally) for this test every year. Looking at the legal side: You don’t need any specific qualifications for the PAT test . Yet, the regulations demand that a competent person does the testing. A skilled person is – “Someone with enough technical knowledge to avoid potential risks and injuries.” I am thinking of doing a short only course (so get certificate) - course is £30 and buying a PAT tester around £150 … so I can do it myself … Do any of you do “DIY” PAT test.

Pat test is not mandatory, though is obviously recommended still.

Although I don’t currently have PAT testing done, I have often thought about doing the training and doing it myself if it ever became mandatory. I work part-time in a school as a caretaker and they have a company come in every year to PAT test all the appliances, laptops, extension leads etc. it takes one guy a couple of days to go around the school. It seems simple enough…

There is no such thing as an ANNUAL PAT test. That’s nonsense. 3 - 5 years would be more sensible

PAT tests are carried out on any appliance that has a removable plug so anything from a kettle to a fridge freezer. Currently it is not a legal requirement although it is recommended. It is most common in commercial type lets such as student type accommodation, fully furnished lets and HMOs. It can also be a requirement for properties within a selective licensing scheme.

Hi guys, thank you for your contribution. But you are telling me what i already know…sorry if i was not so clear so have teo questions.

1. Why Open Rent is “pushing” Pat every year by reminding us that it has expired and due etc…