Air BnB vs Long Term Renting

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum, so please be east on me and forgive me for some questions that may seem silly.

Reason being, I am pretty new to being a Leaseholder and require advice & guidance etc from you good people.

I’m exploring my options currently, into operating potentially a little Air BnB ~ offering my home out for weekends and short stays of no more than a week only.

Or would it be more convenient and less risky financially to let my home out long term?

What’s everyone’s thoughts and opinions on these two options. Do you favour one over the over. If so, why?

Kindest regards
S

AirBNB can be more profitable though a lot more hands on.

Regular let more consistency and more passive income.

5 Likes

Thanks Mark for your input.

I like the idea of Air BnB, mainly because I am assured the guests will be leaving the property within a few days - rather than running into problems with individuals not wanting to leave the premises, as many landlords do with renting long term lets (if that makes sense)

This is just my thoughts, but in practice it could not work out how I imagined it.

We’ve thought about Airbnb (we were actually going to buy a house to use as an Airbnb property until our sale of our current house fell through).

A few things to bear in mind:

1. You become liable for all of the utility bills, council tax (if you don’t qualify for business rates and it’s associated relief), etc.
  2. You have to furnish the property to a relatively high standard and maintain it to that level.
  3. You will need public liability insurance.
  4. Some areas require you to apply for planning permission for change of use.
  5. You will need to factor in cleaning costs after each stay.

We could have made it work as we would have been buying the house with no mortgage but if you need a mortgage you’ll also need a very specific type of mortgage.