Appliances- who is liable : tenant or landlord

Hello I am a landlord. I provided my house to let under the openrent AST tenancy.
I did the inventory which includes all integrated appliances.

the tenant is saying the integrated freezer has stopped working.

Ive checked the tenancy wording again and I just wanted to check - is it the landlord that needs to repair this freezer, or is the tenant liable during the tenancy (under their tenants contents insurance etc?).

It says in the ast something about the landlord being liable for repair during the notice period of tenant exit, but tenant to repair during the active tenancy ?

Advice please as I don’t know if I have to replace or repair the freezer, or inform the tenant she needs to do this? Thanks

I am no expert but I thought that if the rent of a property includes appliances then the landlord is liable to maintain them Hence I do not provide any.

1 Like

Unless explicitly agreed to the contrary, I believe that the landlord is responsible for appliance repairs, if said appliance belongs to them and is supplied under a “furnished” or “part furnished” tenancy. This, of course, is assuming that the damage was not malicious. Like Colin3, it is for that reason that I do not supply white goods etc.

1 Like

also jemma you have to have your supplied electrical appliances checked for safety PAT testing for portable appliances

1 Like

Although our flat is advertised as unfurnished, I have provided a washer-dryer (to encourage the tenant not to have wet washing hanging all over the flat and thence encouraging black mould) and a fridge freezer.

As it was my choice to install these items, I have always assumed them to be my responsibility if they broke down.

1 Like

Thank you all. I assumed it’s my responsibility as landlord to repair/replace any appliance - it’s just the wording within the openrent tenancy that is confusing.
I will just replace the freezer to keep the tenant happy :smiley:

(Wording)