Due to Covid I pay for an empty flat 😕

Hello everyone,
I am a student; I renewed my contract for six months in the mid of March. On the 23rd of March, when the lockdown was announced, I went back to stay with my family, since there was no point to be in close proximity to my work, I work remotely since then. At the moment I see no returning to the property, at least until the contract expires. Nonetheless, I am left now in a situation where I pay for an empty dwelling of a 6-month tenancy where I actually only lived for ten days! I told the landlord about my situation but is not very eager to find a replacement for me at the moment. I have paid my rents until now, but it does seem too much to continue paying, is there something I can do? What would be the appropriate resolution according to your opinion?

Many thanks,
Charles

Do you want to go back to the flat eventually or do you want to give up the tenancy ?

I would like to give up the tenancy. Later on, I will search the market again.

How much notice do you have to give per your tenancy agreement ? Is there a break clause ?

1 Like

That’s the thing, I wanted in the past after my annual contract to continue to a periodic tenancy agreement but instead I was given the choice to move out or have at least a 6 month contract with no break clause. I had to chose the second one…

Hmm, yes. You are stuck with it then. Could you offer to pay to advertise for new tenants plus the costs to reference them ? It would be cheaper than paying 4 months more rent.

3 Likes

everyone is caught up in some way in the present climate

2 Likes

Yes, will try that, thank you.

1 Like

Yeah… true difficult times.

Good luck with it, Charles. What happened to you was really rotten luck. Your landlord is not actually doing anything wrong but you have really lost out to awful timing. Have you spoken to the landlord to see if the remainder of your rent could be at a reduced rate taking unto account the unprecedented circumstances ?